SJB Song


CommitteesGovernor Mark

SJB Governing Body – Committee Structure

The Governing Body has the power to delegate certain of its duties to appointed committees. The structure and membership of these committees is agreed by the Governing Body.

The committees are responsible for doing the majority of the leg-work of the Governing body. Each committee is run by a Chair and the Headteacher sits on each of the committees.

Meetings are minuted so that their business and any decisions reached can be fed back in detail to the following meeting of the Full Governing Body. Committee meetings are quorate when three governors (which can include the Headteacher) are in attendance.

We have three committees:

Finance, Buildings and Personnel

Janet Heffernan (Chair)

Helen O'Neill

Helen Pearson

Alan Gerrard

Louise Slee

Matt Connell

Evaluation and Curriculum

Alan Gerrard (Chair)

Janet Heffernan

Mark Wilson

Helen Pearson

Sarah Branton

Hannah Clarke

(Matthew Connell - stand-in for HP, if required)

Community Wellbeing and Inclusion

Janet Heffernan (Chair)

Angela Wilde

Helen Pearson

Izzy Roberts

John Barrett 

Sharon Harris

Amy Bleasdale

We also have groups with specific responsibilities:

Pay Committee

(convenes annually after staff
appraisal procedures are finished,
to consider pay progression
– see Teachers’ Pay Policy)

Sarah Branton (Chair)

Amy Bleasdale

Angela Wilde

Helen Pearson

Appeals Committee

(see Complaints Procedure)

Alan Gerrard

Helen O'Neill

Amy Bleasdale


Committee Terms of Reference

Evaluation & Curriculum Committee - Terms of Reference
Finance, Buildings & Personnel Committee - Terms of Reference
Community Wellbeing & Inclusion Committee - Terms of Reference

Key Area Monitoring Job Descriptions

Design © Cumbria School Websites
Content © Sir John Barrow School